Law Office of Roland R. Esparza, P.C.

Call Toll Free888.447.9456

Local Calls210.807.8158

Hablamos Español

Make Payment Lawpay
Our first priority is our client’s health and safety. Due to COVID-19 our office is taking precautions to keep our clients and their families safe. We have expanded our options for remote consultations. Please contact our office to discuss whether a phone consultation or video conference (FaceTime or Zoom) is appropriate for you. Thank you.
View Our Practice Areas
  1. Avvo - Rate your Lawyer. Get Free Legal Advice.
    avvo-10.0
    avvo-review
    Top 100 Trial Lawyer
    Scene best sa lawyers 2018
  2. Top-40-40
    Scene best sa lawyers 2019
    avvo-2014
    avvo-2015
  3. avvo-2016
    avvo-2019
    avvo-2020
  4. 2020-10-BEST-CLA.png
    2020-10-BEST-CLA-new.png
    best-of-best
  • Avvo - Rate your Lawyer. Get Free Legal Advice.
  • avvo-10.0
  • avvo-review
  • Top 100 Trial Lawyer
  • Top-40-40
  • Scene best sa lawyers 2018
  • Scene best sa lawyers 2019
  • avvo-2014
  • avvo-2015
  • avvo-2016
  • avvo-2019
  • avvo-2020
  • best-of-best

How much is your pain and suffering worth?

If you become the victim of a Texas auto accident, you can sue the negligent driver or entity that caused your accident. As FindLaw explains, you can recover money damages if you prevail in your lawsuit, including those pertaining to your pain and suffering resulting from your injuries.

Be aware, however, that Texas places a cap on the amount of pain and suffering damages you can recover as follows:

  • $250,000 if the defendant is a private individual and/or entity
  • $100,000 if the defendant is the State of Texas
  • $100,000 if the defendant is someone who was rendering community service through a program sponsored by a city or county

Noneconomic damages

Since no one, including you, can place a monetary value on your pain and suffering, these subjective damages are part of your noneconomic damages that include any or all of the following:

  • Your physical, mental and/or emotional pain and suffering
  • Your disfigurement
  • Your loss of consortium with your spouse and/or children
  • Your loss of your enjoyment of life

Statute of limitation

Be aware that you have only a limited amount of time in which to file a personal injury lawsuit based on someone else’s negligence. The Texas statute of limitations for such lawsuits is two years from the date of your accident. Also understand that no amount of money will ever fully recompense you for your pain and suffering. Winning your lawsuit, however, can give you both a sense of closure and a sense of justice.

While this educational information is not legal advice, it can help you understand how to recover damages for your pain and suffering.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information